Solid-state batteries remain an emerging technology rather than a mature mass-market category. The available evidence spans global capacity estimates, laboratory cells, company targets, pilot lines and vehicle demonstrations, so the figures below keep those populations, dates and measurement types separate.
Key Solid State Battery Statistics
The most useful headline figures are:
- Solid-state capacity represented 1% of global battery manufacturing capacity in 2024, counting capacity installed, under construction or at final investment decision.
- China accounted for 80% of identified solid-state projects in 2024, within the IEA set covering semi-, quasi- and all-solid-state batteries.
- Global battery demand was projected to grow more than threefold from 2024 to 2030 under stated policies, although this was not a solid-state forecast.
- Global battery demand was projected to grow fivefold from 2024 to 2035 under stated policies, also covering the broader battery market.
- QuantumScape measured 844 Wh/L for its QSE-5 cell in 2024, at cell level rather than pack level.
- QuantumScape measured 21.6 Wh for a QSE-5 B-sample cell at C/5 and 25 °C in 2024.
- QuantumScape reported QSE-5 charging from 10% to 80% in just over 12 minutes in 2024, under company-reported cell testing.
- QuantumScape reported 10C discharge power capability for QSE-5 in 2024, with duration and thermal conditions not stated in the supplied summary.
- A DOE 6-mAh laboratory pouch cell retained 93% of initial capacity after 220 cycles at 25 °C in 2021.
- The same DOE pouch cell retained 95% capacity at C/2 versus C/10 at 70 °C in 2021.
- DOE measured 4.5 mS/cm lithium-ion conductivity at 25 °C for a sulfide electrolyte in 2021, ten times that project’s baseline LPS.
- DOE measured critical current density above 6.0 mA/cm² in 2021, five times its baseline LPS.
- A DOE project set a cell-cost objective of no more than $100/kWh in 2021, which was a program target rather than a market price.
- Solid Power reported $21.7 million in revenue for fiscal 2025, up $1.6 million from 2024, across the company rather than solid-state product sales alone.
- Solid Power reported $336.5 million of liquidity on December 31, 2025, a balance-sheet measure rather than production capacity.
- One solid-state lithium-metal battery powered a Ducati V21L motorcycle in a 2025 QuantumScape demonstration, a low-volume vehicle milestone.
Contents
- Market scale and commercialization readiness
- Energy density and cell capacity data
- Charging and power-performance measurements
- Cycle life and operational outcomes
- Electrolyte, separator and manufacturing metrics
- Cost targets and company economics
- Safety and real-world demonstrations
Market Scale and Solid State Battery Commercialization Readiness
The IEA’s 2024 estimate places solid-state capacity at an early commercialization stage. Its category includes semi-solid, quasi-solid and all-solid-state batteries, so it should not be read as a pure all-solid-state market share.
| Measure | 2024 figure | Scope |
|---|---|---|
| Solid-state capacity | 1% of total nominal battery manufacturing capacity | Global; installed, under construction or at final investment decision |
| Identified solid-state projects located in China | 80% | China within the global IEA project set |
| Broad battery-market value | About $130 billion | Global battery market |
| Committed capacity planned for lithium-ion | 95% | Global committed nominal manufacturing capacity |
Source: IEA, “How can innovation help secure future battery markets and mineral supplies?”. These are estimates, and nominal capacity is not actual output.
Under stated policies, the IEA projected total battery demand to expand more than three times between 2024 and 2030 and five times between 2024 and 2035. Those forecasts describe batteries overall, not the future share of solid-state cells.
Company milestones show progress through pilots and samples rather than serial production. QuantumScape began low-volume production of approximately 5-Ah QSE-5 B-sample cells for automotive testing in 2024 and installed one highly automated QSE-5 pilot production line in 2025. QuantumScape 2025 Annual Report
Solid State Battery Energy Density and Cell Capacity Data
Energy-density figures are reported at cell level unless stated otherwise. They are not directly equivalent to vehicle-pack range or usable pack energy.
| Cell or program | Energy-density or capacity figure | Status and period |
|---|---|---|
| QuantumScape QSE-5 | 844 Wh/L | Measured cell result, 2024 |
| QuantumScape QSE-5 B-sample | 21.6 Wh at C/5 and 25 °C | Measured cell energy, 2024 |
| Solid Power lithium-metal EV cell | 440 Wh/kg; 930 Wh/L | Initial company targets, accessed 2026 |
| Solid Power silicon EV cell | 390 Wh/kg; 930 Wh/L | Initial company targets, accessed 2026 |
| Solid Power conversion-reaction cell | 560 Wh/kg; 785 Wh/L | Initial company targets, accessed 2026 |
| DOE Solid Power project | At least 350 Wh/kg usable specific energy | 2021 objective |
The Solid Power figures are design targets, not independently verified measurements. Solid Power investor relations
The DOE Solid Power project reported a baseline solid-state pouch cell of at least 5 mAh in its first project year and assembled a large-format pouch cell of at least 200 mAh in its second year, reported in 2021. The 200-mAh cell was under evaluation, while the project scheduled a final prototype pouch-cell demonstration of at least 2 Ah for Year 3. DOE, “All Solid State Batteries Enabled by Multifunctional Electrolyte Materials”
DOE also reported multi-amp-hour solid-state pouch cells with more than a 50% energy advantage over lithium-ion in the project comparison. The supplied project summary does not provide the full comparison protocol, so this is not a pack-level result.
Solid State Battery Charging and Power-Performance Measurements
QuantumScape reported that QSE-5 could charge from 10% to 80% in just over 12 minutes in 2024 and reported 10C discharge power capability. The summary does not state the sample count, duration or thermal conditions for those company results; a separate QSE-5 B-sample specification gives a nominal voltage of 3.84 V. QuantumScape Form 8-K, filed February 12, 2025
The earlier DOE program provides a different measurement context. It demonstrated at least 0.5C charging by December 2020, while its electrolyte approach targeted 2C fast charging, making the latter a design capability target rather than a completed measurement.
A 6-mAh DOE laboratory pouch cell retained 95% capacity at C/2 versus C/10 at 70 °C. Lower-temperature testing was still ongoing in the 2021 report, so this result should not be generalized to EV charging in ordinary conditions.
Solid State Battery Cycle Life and Operational Outcomes
The strongest directly measured cycle result in the supplied evidence is a small laboratory cell, not an automotive pack. A DOE 6-mAh NMC622/Li solid-state pouch cell retained 93% of its initial capacity after 220 cycles at 25 °C, using a 2.5–4.2 V window with C/5 charge and C/5 discharge.
| Evidence type | Result | Period and limitation |
|---|---|---|
| DOE 6-mAh lab pouch cell | 93% capacity after 220 cycles | 2021; C/5 cycling at 25 °C |
| DOE roadmap | At least 1,000 cycles at 350 Wh/kg | 2021 target, not completed result |
| Solid Power lithium-metal EV cell | More than 1,000 cycles | Company target accessed 2026 |
| Seeo community-storage prototype | 3,000–5,000 or more cycles expected | 2017 estimate, not verified fleet data |
| Seeo community-storage prototype | 10–15-plus-year operating life expected | 2017 estimate; below 100 kW storage |
Sources: DOE Solid Power project and DOE Seeo project. The older Seeo figures concern a community-energy-storage prototype and are not 2026 market averages or EV-pack durability results.
Solid State Battery Electrolyte, Separator and Manufacturing Metrics
Material-level measurements show why electrolyte conductivity and current density remain central engineering measures. DOE measured 4.5 mS/cm lithium-ion conductivity at 25 °C for its sulfide solid electrolyte, ten times the project’s baseline LPS, and measured critical current density above 6.0 mA/cm², five times baseline.
The same project had a second-year conductivity target of at least 5 mS/cm and a critical-current-density target of at least 18 mA/cm². Its electrolyte approach targeted electrochemical stability from 0 to 4.5 V; these were roadmap or design targets, not equivalent to the observed material results.
The 2021 cycle-test construction used a 70-µm solid-electrolyte separator and a 35-µm lithium anode. The roadmap later targeted a separator no thicker than 60 µm, then specified no thicker than 40 µm alongside at least 350 Wh/kg.
DOE fabricated two coated layers, separator film and NMC cathode in roll-to-roll mode, then laminated them into a bi-layer film. The pilot process used the same equipment type as conventional lithium-ion to target 1-GWh-scale production, but no commercial GWh output was reported. DOE Solid Power project
Solid State Battery Cost Targets and Company Economics
The DOE EV project set a cell-cost objective of no more than $100/kWh in 2021. That is a program target, not a prevailing market price; the available evidence does not provide an independent global solid-state sales or price series.
Seeo’s 2017 DOE project described its grid-storage pack as expected to be 35% cheaper than existing lithium-ion. This was an expected prototype economic outcome, not a transaction price or a current EV cost comparison. DOE Seeo project
Solid Power’s fiscal 2025 results provide company-level commercialization economics:
- Revenue was $21.7 million in 2025, up $1.6 million from 2024.
- Operating expenses were $122.6 million in 2025, compared with $125.5 million in 2024.
- The company reported a $100.8 million operating loss and $93.4 million net loss in fiscal 2025.
- Solid Power raised $89.4 million in net proceeds through an at-the-market stock offering in 2025.
- Total liquidity was $336.5 million on December 31, 2025.
- The company expected to install and commission one continuous-electrolyte-production pilot line by the end of 2026.
These figures cover Solid Power as a company, not solid-state product sales or validated production throughput. Solid Power Reports Full Year 2025 Results
Solid State Battery Safety and Real-World Demonstrations
The older Seeo prototype was described by DOE as having zero volatile or flammable components. Its cell was also reported to withstand temperatures up to 150 °C and 10 V without incident, although the test duration and abuse protocol were not stated; these are design and prototype conditions, not accident-rate data. DOE Seeo project
More recent demonstrations show cells moving into partner and vehicle testing:
| Demonstration | Measurement or milestone | Geography and period |
|---|---|---|
| QuantumScape and Volkswagen/PowerCo | One solid-state lithium-metal battery powered a Ducati V21L motorcycle | IAA Mobility, Germany, 2025 |
| BMW and Solid Power | Large-format pure ASSB cells placed in one BMW i7 test vehicle | Around Munich, Germany, May 2025 |
| Solid Power and BMW | 20-Ah all-solid-state cell cited on the investor page | Company milestone accessed 2026 |
The Ducati result was a low-volume demonstration, and further yield and reliability work remained. QuantumScape 2025 Annual Report
BMW said its i7 program was investigating three engineering areas: expansion management, operating-pressure control and temperature adjustment. BMW also said further development was required, so the vehicle was a development platform rather than evidence of commercial deployment. BMW Group and Solid Power are Testing All-Solid-State Battery Cells in a BMW I7